The Engineering Newsletter

EngSci student honoured with C.D. Howe award


By Barbara McKechnie

Second-year EngSci student Colin Cook received the C.D. Howe Memorial Foundation Engineering Award for outstanding achievement in Engineering.

The Faculty nominates one male and one female student annually. The award is given primarily on merit, and takes academic performance, leadership, and quality of reference letters all into account. The award commemorates C.D. Howe, an Engineer turned member of parliament, a position he held in various capacities, for over two decades. The C.D. Howe Memorial Foundation was founded in 1961 to assist students from Thunder Bay and Howe's former constituency of Port Arthur to pursue an undergraduate degree in any field at a Canadian university.

The award provides $7,500 per year for Cook and is tenable for up to three years. Cook completed his first year of Engineering Science with an 89.3% in the fall and 91.3% in the winter. He recently returned from an internship in Singapore when he learned of the news.

“Colin’s obvious dedication, not only to his studies, but to his peers and classroom community, pushed forward his nomination and win,” said Cristina Amon, Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering. “His exemplary leadership abilities will continue to serve him well throughout his career.”

Colin recently returned from an internship in Singapore.

This is the second time that a U of T Engineering student has won this award. In 2002, Danica Lam (EngSci 0T5) was the recipient.

Go to Newsletter Home


Newsletter Archives


Did you miss out a past issue of the Engineering Newsletter? Revisit past articles and catch up on Faculty news on the Engineering homepage.

The Engineering Newsletter is a twice-monthly summary of key headlines, events and opportunities for faculty and staff in the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering. If you have questions or comments, please contact us:

Follow us on Twitter:

  All contents copyright © Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering, University of Toronto.