

Cristina Amon, Dean

## MEMORANDUM

## 2008-13

To: Faculty, Staff and Students of The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: December 17, 2008

## Re: Search for Chair, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(a) Announcement of Advisory Committee Membership

(b) Call for Nominations

Jonathan Rose's first term as Chair, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), ends on June 30, 2009. In accordance with the <u>Policy on</u> <u>Appointment of Academic Administrators</u> and following a Call for Nominations on September 26, 2008, the following Advisory Committee has been established to recommend the selection of a Chair for ECE:

- Professor Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering (Chair) Professor Paul Chow, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Professor Will Cluett, Chair, Division of Engineering Science and Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
- Mr. Jason Grenier, graduate student, The Edward S. Rogers. Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Professor Frank Kschischang, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Ms. Austra Ozolins, Administrative Manager, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Mr. Eugene Polistuk, Alumnus, Department of Electrical Engineering
- Professor Joyce Poon, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Professor Ali Sheikholeslami, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Professor J.J. Berry Smith, Vice-Dean, Students, School of Graduate Studies
- Professor Safwat Zaky, Vice-Provost, Planning and Budget and Professor, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Mr. Adam Zarek, undergraduate student, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

The Committee welcomes nominations for the position. Nominations, along with the justification for them, should be submitted to the attention of the Dean (fax: 416-978-4859 or by email: dean@ecf.utoronto.ca) by **Friday**, **January 23**, **2009**.

Copy: Professor Cheryl Misak, Interim Vice-President and Provost