

University of Toronto

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING OFFICE OF THE DEAN

March 6, 2007

Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

Committee on Nominations for Honours and Awards

The Committee on Nominations for Honours and Awards has been established by Dean Cristina Amon to facilitate the nomination of faculty colleagues, alumni and students for prestigious honours and awards with the intent of enhancing both the recognition of colleagues with outstanding accomplishments, and the reputation of the Faculty.

The Committee will identify appropriate honours and awards, their terms of reference and nomination deadlines. By liaising with academic unit leaders and their committees, it will proactively identify colleagues who have strong credentials for their nominations to have likelihood of success and encourage/facilitate their nomination. The honours and awards included in the Committee's purview will be local, provincial, national and international in scope. Some examples would be University Professorships, Honorary Degrees, awards of Professional Engineers Ontario and OCUFA, awards of Canadian learned engineering societies and NSERC, Fellowship in the Royal Society of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and Fellowship in the Royal Society (of London). The Committee will coordinate submissions for discipline-independent faculty-wide awards and encourage nominations for and facilitate discipline-related award nominations. Finally, working with the Vice-Deans Undergraduate and Graduate, the Committee will identify and coordinate the nomination of students for major awards.

The Committee will also include in its deliberations consideration of honours identified in the University's Performance Indicators: Measuring UP, presented annually to the Governing Council. These include, but are not limited to Guggenheim Fellows, National Academies, Royal Society Fellows, 3M Teaching Fellowships, and American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The Faculty's Alumni Awards Committee will continue with its own mandate to select alumni and alumnae of the Faculty (some of whom hold faculty positions) for the awards of the University of Toronto Engineering Alumni Association.

The initial membership of the Committee on Nominations for Honours and Awards is made up of Professors Michael Charles (Chair), Bruce Francis, Tony Haasz, Alex McLean, Jeff Packer, Jean Zu and University Professor Michael Sefton. Dean Cristina Amon will serve as an *ex officio* member, as will Andrew Stelmacovich, Executive Director of Advancement. Ms. Julie Verduci will provide administrative support to the Committee.